Getting on my [soap] box

I am no longer the master of the remote controller, it is now beseiged by little fingers, yes even smaller than mine. I have to watch through endless episodes of Adventure Time, Regular Show, i-Carly to name but a few, if you are parents to a seven year old then you will understand what these programmes are all about.

I know I’m getting older, but these programmes are loud, and I mean on a whole new decibel level. They are all in your face, going one-hundred miles an hour and like a roller-coaster ride, makes me scream like mad (inside of course) and wish it would just end.

It is any wonder that children actually learn anything from these programmes, other than to be the most hyperactive children in society, and nothing else. Back in the day (didn’t think I’d ever have to utter those words), we had four channels (yes, I said four) to choose from (I’m 34 people, so I’m not that old, but these are the days before Sky took over the viewing world), and the children’s programmes I used to watch when I was around 3-4 years old upwards to around 12 was (and some of you may recognise some of these, and may give you a trip down memory lane):

  • The Amazing Advertures of Morph – Morph and his friends Chas, Nailbrush, Gillespie, Folly and Delilah, got their own spin-off series from ‘Take Hart’.
  • Which brings me along nicely to Tony Hart’s programme Hartbeat – television arts programme on BBC which Tony showed us how to make things out of everyday objects. I loved, loved, loved this show, being the creative child that I was.
  • Bagpuss
  • Rainbow
  • Play School – Floella Benjamin was one of the presenters, and I swear to you she looks no different 30 years on.
  • The Moomins
  • Button Moon
  • The Sooty Show
  • Sesame Street
  • Paddington
  • The Magic Roundabout
  • Bananaman
  • The Basil Brush Show
  • Blue Peter (still going) – and no, I never did get a Blue Peter badge.
  • Bod and the Dog
  • Jimbo and the Jet Set
  • Emu
  • Fingerbobs
  • King Rollo
  • Dangermouse
  • Rolf Harris – and he’s still going strong, bless him.
  • Going Live – Philip Scholfield now presents ‘This Morning’ and has let his hair go the natural silvery grey as it was back in the 80s (as opposed to dying his hair on Going Live)
  • Inspector Gadget
  • Grange Hill – I loved this show growing up.
  • Rentaghost
  • Fraggle Rock
  • Wind in the Willows
  • Worzel Gummidge
  • Why Don’t You?
  • The Wonder Years
  • John Craven’s Newsround (he now hosts Countryfile – which I watch now, yes I am getting old)

Aaaah, those were the days. They weren’t brash, loud, in your face and headbangingly annoying. Most were quite educational and entertaining, not like the 600+ channels for kids on television these days, with the same format. Some programmes I swear they don’t actually form words. I know there are some entertaining and educational ones on there, but they are very few and far between.

It’s a real shame and it annoys me that the kids do watch these awful programmes. Channel 5 Milkshake presenters in particular are very annoying, but actually worth a watch, just to see how hyperactive they are, they must either being taking crack early on in the morning, or if they are like that then they must be have very dark moments inbetween.

Do you agree that the level of children’s programmes on television these days are too bold and brash, or is it just a bit of fun? Do you want to see more programmes such as the gentle ones we used to watch in the 80’s, or would it be deemed too tame and boring for kids these days? Is it just me who thinks this way, and getting on my [children’s tv/soap] box? Comments please.

This is the look I get when I tell the kid to leave the remote alone, i.e. a not impressed look

2 thoughts on “Getting on my [soap] box

  1. Great photo – I know that look (I have a 7 year-old too). No you’re not alone. We’ve banned any channel with ads, which basically leaves us with…erm..CBBC. Love Deadly 60, the children love Arthur, and otherwise they mostly watch films. We got some old stuff on DVD when they were smaller – Moomins, Mr Benn, The Clangers, and they loved it all. And yes, it is quieter and more slow-paced, but what I really like about it (especially the Oliver Postgate stuff) is that it doesn’t patronise small children. It uses proper language, and of course no ghastly presenters mugging to the camera.
    But then I really *am* old.

    • Thankyou! 7 year old’s are fun aren’t they?!

      Oh yes, Deadly 60 is a fave (even for me!) – I guess our equivalent of The Really Wild Show with Terry Nutkins (seeing Chris Packham and Michaela Strachen on TV the other day, I am sure these eighties presenters don’t seem to age!).

      Glad your’s love the ‘old’ stuff, it’s great that they can appreciate our generation’s TV. And I totally agree with you regarding not partronising them, Lol! When I have to put up with nonsense TV that the kid watches, I do sense the old age creeping up on me complaining about them, but to be honest I get to appreciate what I had more!

Leave a Reply

